This section contains frequently asked questions on various subjects. FAQ's will be addded on a continuous basis.
Q. Can I coach on my own?
A. NO - You should never coach on your own under any circumstances. There must be at least two qualified coaches present at all times during a training session. One minimum Level 2, plus one appropriately qualified assistant coach, in the disciplines being offered.
Q. I have a Safe in Your Hands award which expires in 2 years time and I am enroled onto a Level 1 coaching course. Does my Safe in Your Hands cover me?
A. NO - All candidates enrolled onto a Level 1 course and all helpers aged 16 years+ MUST attend a Safeguarding & Protecting course to meet coaching membership and insurance requirements.
Q. I already have a PVG through my employer, do I need one through Scottish Gymnastics?
A. YES - If you are working in a regulated role in an SG registered club, you are required to have a PVG through Scottish Gymnastics.
Q. I have attended my Level 1 coaching course but do not have a PVG through SG and I have not attended a safeguarding course. My Head Coach has asked me to cover for a coach who is ill. Can I do this?
A. NO - Through our Safe Recruitment Process, no club should permit a qualified coach who has no PVG through Scottish Gymnastics or has not attended a safeguarding course to coach within the club.