Posted on 28/07/2015 in Men's Artistic


The Performance Pathway Programme (PPP) for Men’s Artistic follows a new approach that builds on the successful elements of the National Development Programme to align Scotland with similar programmes across the rest of the UK. The PPP is one component of the Men’s Artistic performance programme which will involve a new technical lead and brings a fresh delivery format through which gymnasts and coaches can enhance their capability for International success.

The PPP has taken shape to strengthen performance development of our coaches and gymnasts within the MAG programme and the club training environment. A series of training camps hosted by Scott Hann and his team at South Essex Gymnastics Club (home of Olympic medallist Max Whitlock) features prominently in the programme. These camps will be attended by a select group of gymnasts and coaches where an ethos of hard work and continuous improvement will be required from those gymnasts identified through the grades competition system.

A pilot training camp took place at South Essex Gymnastics Club from 20th-23rd July, where thirteen gymnasts and four coaches from Scotland trained alongside their South Essex counterparts. A daily early morning session and an afternoon session gave everyone an excellent opportunity to perform, learn new elements, and receive feedback and guidance.

Proving to be a very successful and rewarding few days for both the gymnasts and coaches alike, Joshua Watters, Zippy's Gymnastics Academy coach, commented "The emphasis on conditioning, and the programmes/circuits shown to us are simple yet very effective and all are technical points that will be used later in the gymnasts' career. The camp is helping me to develop a solid plan for what to do with my club and I already can't wait to get back in to the gym to put it in to action."

The gymnasts and coaches selected for the pilot camp were:

Angus Baxter (Carnegie Spartans)
Ben Henderson (City of Glasgow)
Bradley Campbell (City of Glasgow)
Finlay Logan (City of Glasgow)
Fraser Lynes (City of Glasgow)
Fraser Somerville (City of Glasgow)
Jude Bannatyne (City of Glasgow)
Aidan Jordaan (West Lothian Artistic)
Ben Johnstone (West Lothian Artistic)
Euan McLellan (West Lothian Artistic)
Lochlan Brown (West Lothian Artistic)
Rory Hall (West Lothian Artistic)
Niall McEwan (Zippy's Gymnastics Academy)

Pusha Gherman (City of Glasgow)
John Campbell (West Lothian Artistic)
Stephen Tonge (West Lothian Artistic)
Joshua Watters (Zippy's Gymnastics Academy)


Share article: