Technical Committee Update & Vacancies

Posted on 08/11/2022 in Club News

Technical Committee Update & Vacancies

The Scottish Gymnastics discipline technical committees do a great job using their technical expertise to support the planning and development of safe, quality gymnastics programmes in Scotland.

The technical committees have a specific focus on the performance pathway, coach and judge development, and the domestic events programme, working in partnership with Scottish Gymnastics staff.

We have some changes to the committee members, as well as an exciting opportunity to take up roles across the disciplines. 

Women’s Artistic

Ruth Griffin takes on the role of chair with immediate effect, with Sarah Scott taking on the role of pathway coordinator with a specific focus for coach development. Both bring years of experience to their respective roles and an enthusiasm to support women’s artistic gymnastics to continue to grow and thrive. Sarah Fogg remains as competition coordinator but due to the scale of the women’s events programme, we are looking for another person to work with Sarah in the preparation and running of the competitions, as competition coordinator.

The role works very closely with the Scottish Gymnastics events team. Our judging working group (Pauline Smith, Katrina Harper, Cathy Osborne, Ruth Griffin, and Sara Politakis) will continue to provide guidance and input on all judging related areas including judging panels for the events and supporting judge development.

> View the women's artistic technical committee


We have new joint chairs for the acrobatic technical committee with Ann Rundell and Vicki McGaw sharing the role. They are both at Avondale as chair and vice chair, and have experience in judging and Ann is also a coach. They are a welcomed addition to the committee. Suzanne Fraser will join as pathway coordinator, bringing a wealth of experience in acrobatic and will work closely with Wendy Purdie, performance manager and the national technical lead, Ian Said. Fiona Fyfe has been key in the delivery of the last two competitions and alongside Lynsey Ritchie are the competition coordinators. Tracey Findlay remains as the judging coordinator. Our working group will also continue providing the opportunity for the wider acro community to contribute to discussions and share feedback.

> View the acrobatic technical committee


Ellena Devitt chairs the tumble committee, with Jacki Gilmore as judging coordinator and Catriona Lessani as competition coordinator. There is a vacancy for a pathway coordinator. This role works in conjunction with Scottish Gymnastics performance department supporting the growth of the discipline in addition to the pathway development and supporting the education and development of our tumble coaches.

> View the tumbling technical committee


Ruth Wilson chairs the rhythmic technical committee with Laura Donaldson as pathway coordinator and Conor Murray as judging coordinator. Our competition working group have been working well to support the delivery of the events this year, however, we are looking for a competition coordinator to join the committee and support the working group. This role supports the planning, organisation and delivery of events supported by the events team.

> View the rhythmic technical committee

Men's Artistic

Shona Grigor has withdrawn from her role as the pathway coordinator on the men's artistic technical committee. Fiona Ashton-Jones has also withdrawn from her role as competition coordinator due to taking up a new role in her personal career. We thank them both for the hard work in developing the next generation of gymnasts, and support on developing the pathway and domestic competition structure for men's artistic. We are now actively looking to fill both roles. 

There are no changes to the trampoline or teamgym technical committees. 

If you are interested in any of the vacancies, or to hear more about what is involved, why not get in touch with Lara Gregson, head of operations for a quick chat on 07821124209 or via email on You can find out more about the current vacancies and the technical committees on the page below. 

> Technical Committees

Thank you to all our technical committee members for their ongoing support.

Share article: